Thinking of Traveling? Check the List of Quarantined States First

Planning a road trip? Make sure to check out the most recent list of COVID-19 hotspots before you go. On Tuesday, July 14, New Jersey added four states to its coronavirus quarantine travel advisory. Governor Murphy asked that travelers, including New Jersey residents, who arrive from these states are being asked to voluntarily self-quarantine for two weeks and to take a coronavirus test. (Delaware came off the list.)

Here are the 22 states that qualify as COVID-19 hotspots and require a 14 day quarantine upon returning to New Jersey:

22 States Include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin

The quarantine applies to any state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. People traveling for business are exempt. The list of states will be updated on a rolling basis. See the latest updates here.


25 Ridiculously Refreshing Fruity Cocktails

25+ Mouthwatering, Juicy Burgers

Facebook Twitter Google Digg Reddit LinkedIn Pinterest StumbleUpon Email

Author: Karen Latimer

Dr. Latimer is a Family Physician and Wellness & Parenting Coach. She works with parents who want to feel more confident when helping their children and coaches young adults to help them better navigate college life and transitions. Contact her at to learn more. She is the author of two Audible Originals, Take Back the House -- Raising Happy Parents and Worry Less, Parent Better. She is also the co-founder of the app that makes your life easier and puts social in a healthier place -- List'm.


Sign up for our email newsletter